County political arrangements and cabinet members

Our corporate governance structure consists of a leader, a cabinet and an overview and scrutiny function. The full council, which sets the budget and council tax levels and approves the council's policy framework, comprises of 84 county councillors.

Full council appoints the leader, who then appoints cabinet members. The cabinet, chaired by the leader of the county council, implements policy and runs county services. Individual cabinet members have been given specific areas of responsibility, but all decisions are taken collectively by cabinet.

The current political composition of seats on the council is:

- Conservative 48
- Labour 32
- Green 2
- Liberal Democrat 2

The county council elections take place every 4 years and were last held in May 2021.

District and parish councils

The Lancashire County Council administrative area has 12 district councils and over 200 parish and town councils.

The districts are:

Burnley Borough Council

Chorley Borough Council

Fylde Borough Council

Hyndburn Borough Council

Lancaster City Council

Pendle Borough Council

Preston City Council

Ribble Valley Borough Council

Rossendale Borough Council

South Ribble Borough Council

West Lancashire Borough Council

Wyre Borough Council

We also work closely with Lancashire's unitary authorities, Blackpool and Blackburn with Darwen.